ion42 at the 18th Laborrunde Conference in Berlin-Buch
form follows beam – news from the large-scale project FAIR

ion42 at the 18th Laborrunde Conference in Berlin-Buch  form follows beam - news from the large-scale project FAIR

Building laboratories today that will work tomorrow – that’s what the 18th Laborrunde Symposium will be about on 2 and 3 June in Berlin.
On the first day of the conference, Kai Otto, partner at schneider+schumacher, and Andreas Schneider, authorised signatory at DGI Bauwerk, will give an insight into the planning and construction of the FAIR (Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research) particle accelerator in Darmstadt at 12:55 pm.

The concept form follows beam by ARGE ion42 combines architecture, technology and landscape: only about 30 percent of the accelerator centre will be visible later on. The above-ground buildings follow the shape of the beam and are presented as part of a flowing movement. Another design element is the façade surfaces, which symbolically depict the beam intensity that takes place underground.

In addition to the heart of the facility, an underground accelerator ring with a circumference of almost 1100 metres, around 20 accelerator and experimental buildings as well as laboratories are being built on the 150,000 m2 site.

In the future, researchers from all over the world will gain new insights into the structure of matter and the development of the universe in outstanding experiments here.

FAIR

ion42 auf der 18. Laborrunde Konferenz in Berlin-Buch
form follows beam – Neues vom Großprojekt FAIR

ion42 auf der 18. Laborrunde Konferenz in Berlin-Buch form follows beam – Neues vom Großprojekt FAIR

Heute Labore bauen die auch morgen funktionieren – darum geht es am 2. und 3. Juni in Berlin auf dem 18. Laborrunde-Symposium.
Am ersten Konferenztag geben Kai Otto, Partner bei schneider+schumacher, und Andreas Schneider, Prokurist bei DGI Bauwerk, um 12:55 Uhr Einblick in die Planung und den Bau des Teilchenbeschleunigers FAIR (Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research) in Darmstadt.

Das Konzept form follows beam der ARGE ion42 vereint Architektur, Technik und Landschaft miteinander: Nur rund 30 Prozent des Beschleunigerzentrums werden später einmal sichtbar sein. Die überirdischen Gebäude folgen in ihrer Form der Strahlführung und werden als Bestandteil einer fließenden Bewegung dargestellt. Ein weiteres Gestaltungselement sind die Fassadenoberflächen, an denen symbolisch die Strahlintensität abgebildet wird, die sich unter der Erde abspielt.

Neben dem Herzstück der Anlage, einem unterirdischen Beschleunigerring mit einem Umfang von knapp 1100 Metern, entstehen auf dem 150.000 m2 großen Areal rund 20 Beschleuniger- und Experimentierbauwerke sowie Labore.

Forschende aus aller Welt werden hier zukünftig in herausragenden Experimenten neue Erkenntnisse über den Aufbau der Materie und die Entwicklung des Universums gewinnen.

GROSSPROJEKT FAIR